The Observatory of Biomedical Journals Initiative - The OBJ Initiative

Lucas Helal

On behalf of the The OBJ Initiative*

Useless studies have been progressing to command the biomedical ecosystem. They may have gained value by implementing key clinical research standards such as the use of a reporting guideline or unreasonable deviation from pre-specified core items. As journal's editors, they are still the ultimate gatekeepers of the research output in the ecosystem, and may play a big role in reducing the burden of avoidable waste in research, by impacting how research is communicated, verified, valued, evaluated, and rewarded, as an urgent matter.

Therefore, we developed the Observatory of Biomedical Journals Initiative (OBJ Initiative) to prospectively assess open science core values of transparency, openness, reproducibility, as well as equity; audit and aid journals and editorial boards to comply with such policies whenever needed, catalyzing the development of strategies and feasible solutions. We will publicly disseminate and continuously surveil the outcomes.

Key-Words: Editorial Policies; Transparency; Open Science; Reproducibility

*The OBJ Initiative Members

Core Group

Lucas Helal, PhD (Head) – Universidade do Extremo Sul Catarinense (BRA); The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute - Centre for Journalology (CAN)

Guilherme Weiss Freccia, MMSc (**Co-head**) – Universidade do Estado de Santa Catarina (BRA)

David Moher, PhD – *The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute* – *Centre for Journalology* (*CAN*)

Florian Naudet, MD, PhD – Université of Rennes 1 (FRA)

Andressa Souza, MD Candidate – Faculdade Evangélica Mackenzie (BRA)

Steering Committee

Andrea Tricco, MSc, PhD – Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St. Michael's Hospital (CAN); Dalla Lana School of Public Health & Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto (CAN); Queen's Collaboration for Health Care Quality – Joanna Briggs Institute (CAN)

Larissa Shamseer, MSc, PhD - Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St. Michael's Hospital (CAN)

Tammy Hoffmann, PhD – Australasian EQUATOR Centre (AUS); Bond University (AUS)

Dawid Pieper, MD, MSc, PhD – *BMC Systematic Reviews; Witten/Herdecke University* (*GER*)

Erick Turner, MD – Oregon University (USA)

Evan Mayo-Wilson, MSc, MPA, PhD – Department of Epidemiology and Biostatitistics, Indiana University School of Public Health (USA); Co-Head of the TRUST Initiative (USA)

Lex Bouter, MSc, PhD – Vrije Universiteit and Amsterdam University Medical Centers (HOL); Steering Committee of the REWARD Alliance and Chair of the World Congresso on Scientific Integrity